Gothenburg from atop


It was Friday and we had just finished a presentation for a group project. Against what we usually do, which is study some more, the entire group decided to go home and take a break. I was walking to the tram station and felt that something was off, something was missing. While looking at my surroundings it dawned on me: what was missing was the DARKNESS! For days I had been arriving to Chalmers while the sun wasn’t completely out, and leaving by the time sunset had long passed. Still in shock by how shiny things looked, I made the purpose of making the most out of the sunlight hours during the weekend. And not only that, I would also try to see as much as possible! This is how the “High Places” theme came to mind. A tower, a church on a hill and the top of an island were waiting for me.

On Saturday, the first stop was Guldhedstornet, a water tower constructed in 1953, which has a Café on top with a wonderful view.

Image

From there you can see both unpopulated areas and the city.

Image

Image

Image

Before leaving, I noticed a small path to the side of the tower. One of the interesting things about Gothenburg is that from pretty much everywhere, if you walk a few hundred meters you will most definitely stumble into nature. So following the trail I discovered what is now one of my favorite spots. The view is not as broad, but the beauty is increased by the surrounding rocks and fauna.

Image

ImageImage

Next stop was Masthuggskyrkan, a church used as navigation point in Gothenburg. It sits on a hill and provides a splendid view over the harbor and river.

Image

Image

I arrived just before the sun started to slip away, which resulted in a hypnotizing panorama as the city slowly lit up. My very inappropriate gloves for the chilly weather made the visit shorter than planned, but the view was exceedingly worth the nearly frozen fingers.

ImageImage

In the next picture you can also see Sjömanstornet, a memorial tower built next to the Maritime Museum, from where the “Mariner’s Wife” gazes at the river. This one I will visit in the future, since it’s currently closed for the season.

Image

Today, my daylight hours were spent away from the city, in what many consider the #1 must-see in Gothenburg: the Southern Archipelago. The ferry trip to the islands takes about 20 minutes, but it’s almost as impressive as the islands themselves.

ImageImage

Stora Rös, the highest point in the Styrsö island, was one of the first places I visited at my arrival in Gothenburg. The “High Places” thematic weekend was the perfect excuse to return and see the traditional Swedish red and white houses from above. I have now been to the Archipielago thrice, and don’t think I will get tired of it any time soon.

ImageImageImage

After hundreds of stairs and some rock climbing, the (surprisingly purple) sunset happily marked the end of my weekend adventure.

Image