Of little endings and little celebrations


Something that has particularly surprised me in my time in Göteborg is how quickly seasons pass by. Coming from the land of eternal summer, I could never guess that I’d experience the end of three seasons in only 6 months. It has gone from a sunny city looking like a gigantic garden, to the colors and scent of falling leaves in autumn; almost entire days in darkness brightened by snow in winter… and now the end of winter opening the way for spring!

For me this week encompassed three little endings and accordingly, three little celebrations. As for commemorating the end of winter, walking on the streets is a celebration on its own. They are now coming out of hibernation, filled with music and people walking, seating on the grass or basking in the long hidden sun. Many can be seen eating ice cream and sporting sun glasses. I took the chance to wear mine too, after the ongoing joke to my boyfriend that they were the most useless object I had brought to Sweden.  But from all of this, the most enjoyable is witnessing the blossoming flowers. Little spurts are showing up in most trees and on the grass… nothing but cheerful!

Bild

This week was also the end of the first study period, which meant taking exams. Apart from all the material learnt for two courses, something that didn’t scape my mind was the Bok Rea. Bok Rea is a yearly book festival which entails most libraries having discounts on their inventory. I of course didn’t want to miss it, so after finishing the exams I had a little trip to Akademibokhandeln, Pocket Shop and, my favorite, the Science Fiction book shop . I ended up leaving the premises with a book about a woman who, in “celebration” of her kids leaving to college, decides she will stay in bed for a year. Let’s see how that turns out for her.

Bild

Finally, the last ending was the culmination of the Swedish lessons in Folkuniversitet. This was celebrated with a pleasant evening in a bar, accompanied by some beers, the teacher and friends from class. One of the aims of the teacher was always introducing us to cultural details about Sweden, and as the end of that cycle, he brought each of us a newspaper. We rejoiced in how much of what was written we could now understand.

Bild

Bild

And with all the little endings come some new challenges.  A new quarter with two courses, trying to continue my Swedish learning  and, with spring… the challenge will be making time to study instead of spending all day outside! I will tell you how that goes!

2 comments

  1. Michael Nystås

    I really like this post, dear Divia! Poetic and compassionate! Excellent work!
    /Michael