Gothenburg, my new home!


I am sure most of the new students have started visualising their life in Gothenburg; their lifestyle, their home, the university. I would therefore like to take their toughts and imagination a step forward by providing details of my accomodation in Gothenburg.

I live in a building which is owned by the government i.e Goteborg Stad. For the first semester here in Sweden, I lived in an SGS accomodation but since my contract expired in January 2014, I have moved to this new place. My room size is 37 square metres, with an attach bathroom. The kitchen is shared with other tenants on the floor. There is a seperate laundry room on each floor, located right next to the kitchen. Since there is a laundry room on every floor, booking it is never a hassle and you can easily find a spot when you want one.

A view of my building

A view of my building

Common kitchen on every floor

Common kitchen on every floor. The laundary room is attached to the kitchen

Common kitchen on every floor. The laundary room is attached to the kitchen

 

Apart from that every floor has its own common area and there is a party hall on the ground floor, which you need to book in case you want to host a party or a larger get together. The common space on every floor is very spacious and can host a big gathering, but it just that then you need to make sure that you do not disturb other corridor mates. Right next to the building is a small but well mantained football pitch and a tennis court. I play neither of the two sports, but I use both the areas to play cricket on weekends instead. That is the best part, you do not need to pay for these places or book them, you just have too show up and that is it!

Football gorund near the building

Football ground near the building

The football ground and the tennis court are located next to each other and are just across the street from the building

The tennis court is right next to the football ground and both of them are right across the street from the building

Ample parking space for cycles inside the building. Reducing the risk of theft

Ample parking space for cycles inside the building. Reducing the risk of theft

A view of the common space on each floor. The kitchen entrance is to the right of this picture

A view of the common space on each floor. The glass doors open up to a small terrace.  The kitchen entrance is to the right of this picture

The 'party room' on the ground floor

The ‘party room’ on the ground floor

The party room also has a well equipped kitchen

The party room also has a well equipped kitchen

The nearest bus stop is a mere 3-4 min walk and is called Backa Kyrkogata. There is a grocery store called Netto right next to that stop, so it is very convenient to buy groceries. If you take bus 19 from this stop it takes you directly to Chalmers in around 25 minutes. You will get off at Chalmers Tvärgata which is right next to the main library at Chalmers. In between you will pass through many tram stations and bus stops, but the two largest and busiest ones are Brunssparken and Hjalmar Bratingsplatsen. You will find a video compilation of my journey from Brunssparken to Backa Kyrkogata, at the end of this article, which I made just to give an idea of the ambiance aorund the city while I am commuting.

Johanneberg Campus: Chalmers Tvärgata bus stop with Chalmers Library in the background.

 

 

I feel, that there are certain drawbacks to this place as well which the new students should know of. Most of the residents in this building are not students, so unlike my previous accomodation, you do not come across any fellow Chalmerists in the building. No furniture is included in the rent, so when I moved in I had to buy everything from scratch; although IKEA makes it less of a problem, but still considerable time and effort goes into furnishing your room. There are no other recreation areas in the building e.g. a sauna or a billiard room like some of the other student houses have. The neighbourhood is very quite and peaceful and almost too boring at times. But for those of you who like such serene and quite places, it is an ideal locality. Altough there is a direct bus to Chalmers but still the commuting time is a bit too much and gets tiring at times.

I am really satisfied tough, since this 37 square metre room costs me only 3700 SEK per month.The building is spacious and has enough facilities inside and around it to keep my mood lifted! I really hope that all of the new students have a great time at their accomodations too!