Soaking in the Swedish summer


Without having gone through the full cycle of a calendar year in Sweden, I am still as curious and excited about many of the subtleties here, as I was when I moved in before 9 months. For instance, the sunset and sunrise. Last night I had a pending assignment, which kept me up pretty much all night. The sky was lit with twilight until about 21.30, and as I was staring into my laptop screen and typing away, I did not quite realise it was 04.00, the next day. When I decided to get some sleep, I see that the sky was again lit with the light from the dawn. Pulled down the blinders and went to sleep.

Sunrise and Sunset in the Swedish summer

Sunrise and Sunset in the Swedish summer

This is the summer one can experience once you climb up the northern hemisphere.

With such exquisite experiences, like the late dusks and early dawns, crawling out from the 5 hour daylight times, the spirit of people has also changed. The grey gloom that sort of persisted, no longer is seen. There is joy and cheer, and visibly happier crowds. Might seem like an exaggeration, but I did not quite believe unless I made the observation myself.

A typical summer lunch break at the Chalmers Lindholmen campus

A typical summer lunch break at the Chalmers Lindholmen campus

The prologue to the summer done, let me etch out some plans I have for the summer. There is very little that you ‘cannot’ do in European summer. The range and depth of activities, places to visit are simply mind blowing. Adding to this, University shuts down for full two months – and for students it almost is 3 months. I just wrote one of my last exams in my Masters program few hours ago. Another exam is a take-home one (yeah, I get to write it at home ;)). Technically, I won’t be writing anymore exams in a hall for my Masters!

So, what I am doing in this break?

I have decided to go back home for a month – although it is not quite what you may want to do, while the gorgeous summer here is in progress. Before I leave to India I will be spending some time in Germany. I come back to Nuremberg in Germany, and mostly will be visiting Berlin or Munich. En-route to Gothenberg, I will also be visiting friends in Amsterdam, Netherlands. After that pitstop, I come back to Gothenburg, and from here have student-trip plan (read optimised for best experience for least spending) to Rome. Looks good for a macro plan.

There are couple of other highlights during the summer that I am pretty excited about. A Pride Festival is happening late this week, and I would love to witness the colorful spectacle. Another colourful event is Color Me Rad event happening in August. I call it the Swedish Holi. With these plans, and great expectations of doing some exciting thesis work later this summer, I soak and drench myself in the Swedish summer.