Learning from laureates


What is the first thing that comes to your mind, at the sound of hearing Sweden?
If you aren’t yet a crazy Spotify-er, then Nobel Prize would be the most popular answer.

And what do you hope for when you reach Sweden? A very reasonable expectation would be to listen to, learn from and maybe meet Nobel laureates, now that you are in the Land of the Nobel Prize. And aptly so, a city like Gothenburg leaves no chance wasted to get hold of Nobel laureates come and deliver lectures, engage in interactions with the two complementing Chalmers and Göteborg Universities.

In the ten months I have been here at Chalmers, there have umpteen number of exciting talks from across the spectrum of science and technology. There must have been handful of talks by Nobel laureates as a representation of the quality of the talks. I have participated in three events featuring Nobel prize winners, while having missed a mega event which was a mingle with Nobel prize winners.

Today, I was at a lecture by Michael Levitt from Stanford, who along with Arieh Warshal recieved the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on computational biology. In my work as an evangelist for Free and Open Source projects back in India, I had explored the Stanford project Folding@Home in 2012, and when the Nobel Prize announcement was made, I outlined the scope of their work for The Hindu. With this background, I was all excited about the talk. And it turned out to be one of the best talks, which was not only awesome with the science, but also had awe-inspiring glimpse of the personality that the speaker was.

At this juncture, I think a necessary digression would be to point at the opportunities that Chalmers provides: I am a masters student in Communication Engineering burning out a small region of my analytical brain, but there are ample opportunities to activate the analytical and rest of my brain holistically. For instance, let me recollect the last three special events I have been part of excluding today’s – A workshop on Arctic Shipping (catering to the environmentalist in me), talk on the physics behind Volcanic eruptions (quenching the science aficionado and Lord of the Rings fan in me), and a play reading done by Nobel laureates (the theatre fan in me)!

These are just highlights from my limited experience at Chalmers. Depending on one’s interests you could manoeuvre your experiences to more exciting levels, and Chalmers will dare you with a well equipped platform for everything you want to do!

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry Michael Levitt at Chalmers

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry Michael Levitt at Chalmers

 

Nobel laureate in Physics, and IgNobel prize winner Andre Geim at Chalmers!

Nobel laureate in Physics, and IgNobel prize winner Andre Geim at Chalmers!

One comment

  1. Pingback: It’s that (Nobel) time of the year again | Chalmeristbloggen