New year, new aspirations!


It has been an intensive few weeks with much happening both on and off the campus. This year was the first time that there was a new schedule adopted for the exams; unlike previous years the exams for the second study period in Autumn were held after Christmas. It was not very amusing for many students, like my self, who went back home for the Christmas break. It took a lot of effort and determination to set the wheels into motion again after Christmas, and head straight into the exam week. I wish all the very best for your results.

I had the good fortune of celebrating New Years’s eve in Gothenburg. The glorious start to the evening was with the fireworks organised by the newspaper company GP. They can be viewed from many points in the city, but the most celebrated location is behind the Gothenburg Opera. The show dose not by any stretch match the stature of fireworks exhibition in other parts of the world like Dubai, but lit a spark of energy in the otherwise calm and serene Gothenburg city life. It was nonetheless a commendable show, one for which hundreds and hundreds of people thronged the city streets, and for once you could see the streets deluged with people.

A glimpse of the fireworks, from the Opera house

A glimpse of the fireworks, from the Opera house

The fireworks show was followed by a stroll down the Avenyn with a friend; it was refreshing to be weaving our way through streets that were, for a change, abuzz with people. We took a coffee at a local coffee shop and then got on our way to have a dinner together with some other friends. Personally, it was my first attempt at having a formal dinner on New years eve; although it was never really formal, but fun and memorable nonetheless.

My "formal" dressing

My ”formal” dressing

 

All set for the dinner at New Year's Eve

All set for the dinner at New Year’s Eve

At Gotaplatsen

At Gotaplatsen

I got a bit too excited may be

I got a bit too excited may be

We concluded the evening by going down to Gotaplatsen, to see the light show and the final countdown to midnight. We celebrated with hundreds of other people as the clock struck twelve and the sky glittered with never ending series of fireworks again!

With the New year, comes the old chit and chat about having new resolutions. Altough more and more people are growing alienated to the idea, but I still feel it gives me a kick to think that I will wipe the slate clean now and start building up towards my goal with a rejuvenated spirit. So, for now my aim is to improve my Swedish and buy myself a bicycle; yes!, you heard it right, buying a bi-cycle has been evading me for over a year now and this time I hope I will get the monkey of my back and finally buy one.

For the new exchange students that just came in 2015 promises to be the ever so much awaited start to their lives as an exchange student! I wish you guys have a blast and enjoy every moment as a Chalemerist! Lycka till!