Finally it snows!


For all the new students that joined Chalmers in Spring 2015, the last weekend was the first instance they saw some real snowfall in Gothenburg. Since my arrival in this city, the winters have been relatively warmer than they generally are. There have not been nearly as low temperatures and as much snow as one would expect from a Scandinavian country. But nonetheless, each time it has snowed it has meant heaps of joy for me. So understandably, I did not let the awesome weather last week slip by without doing anything!

I went out for a stroll in the city that was carpeted in a glowing layer of snow! What a refreshing sight and it is just mesmerising to be walking around with snowflakes falling from the sky.

IMG_20150125_121610 IMG_20150125_121043 IMG_20150125_121040 IMG_20150124_124449

I walked down to an open area, which is a popular picnic spot otherwise, and started the rather fruitful excercise of making the first snowman ever in my life!

Meet my buddy; Mr. Snowman turned out pretty well

Meet my buddy; Mr. Snowman turned out pretty well

Another first: snow angel!

Another first: snow angel!

The following day turned out to be even more incredible. Bright sun shine glittered off from the clean soft snow all over the city. This time around I walked down to Botaniska, and hiked up to a hill top. Me and a friend took some fika with us, to give the afternoon a more traditional Swedish touch. We sat there for almost an hour, soaking the sun which is a rarity in Sweden at this time of the year, and did some chit-chat about our lives and narrating some funny incidents to each other. Memorable indeed!

 

Fika to add some more flavor to the day!

Fika to add some more flavor to the day!

Sunshine!

Sunshine!

IMG_20150125_124239 IMG_20150125_124242IMG_20150125_124309

 

I am sure for those of you who were outdoors, you can relate to my excitement and fascination with the glory of the weather last weekend. For those who missed it, do not forget to be outdoors next time; it is certainly one of the best memories and feelings you will take back with you from Sweden!