Research and writing!


Formatting using Latex

Formatting using Latex!

Previously I had written enthusiastically about my thesis. It doesn’t imply this post would have waned down, and I am going to whine about it in this one! While in that post, I skimmed through the research methods, the depth in which problems are looked at, and the nuanced approach to everything about research, now I am equipped with experiences of some of the results from research based on my collaboration till now.

After struggling with the research work for more than a semester, and while we are still struggling, we think, we are a point where some of our results seem publishable. The struggling part I attributed the work to is legit. Justified also by my supervisor, when he jovially acknowledged, ”If you’re struggling, then you are learning”! And, it is quite true as well.

Getting back to the publishing business, one of the primary difficulties as I learned is to decide when the research results are worth publishing. Once, you have convinced yourself that there are adequate ideas, neither less, nor in surplus, to be framed into an academic paper, the next part of the learning begins. Academic writing can get tedious, cumbersome, and jolly, all at the same time. It can also get despicable, if you are working with the wrong people, or in some cases if you are that wrong person.

We have sketched detailed time plan, after planning the plan for a few days. This certainly helps to stay focused, and allocate resources adequately. Blueprinting the ideas that would enter the document, the flow, connections, simulations, citations and derivations – the nature of content to ponder about are aplenty. But, once the outline is ready, and with all the work that has happened, formulating the ideas into legible, and comprehensible form is no less of a challenge.

While I can with ease scribble out less formal creative writing, academic writing seems to appear at the other end of the spectrum. Of course, writing skills of any kind do help in transcribing one’s ideas into words. The constraint appears in the structure and the links between ideas. One cannot succumb to the wilderness of the mind, and hop between ideas. There must be at least, a certain pedantic way of presenting your ideas. As I have learned in working with my supervisors, a linear growth of ideas is quintessential in presenting an academic idea. I would be lambasted (deservingly) for having used these many, unnecessary paragraphs. But, the joy of blogging lies in these nitty-gritty perks of making one’s own grammar😉

While I get back to my thesis endeavours, happy expecting spring to everyone (winter is slowly fading away!)