Snow-boarding, in style


Winter sports are a spectacle to behold. Hailing from the tropical zone, it was quite an experience to witness my first winter, or should I call it semi-winter sporting experience. Semi-winter because the snow is all actually gone, and the venue where we were spectators to world snow boarding competition in fact had old, or artificial snow. The event was AleInvite, just outside Gothenburg.

Irrespective of the quality of snow, the thrills of snow-boarders performing mid-air acrobatics, after being thrust mid air by the momentum of sliding off the slope was scintillating. The stunts were reminiscent of the wake-boarding competition I had written about few months ago. But, in this event the terrain was more realistic, and gravity was unpardoning on the ones who mis-landed. The participants were from different northern hemispheric countries, and many have been champions at some or the other international stints.

Witnessing these sports does enthuse me to want to try out some milder form of winter sports. This venue, 25 km outside Gothenburg, in fact offers basic terrain for rookies like myself to practice skiing, and full experience under controlled environment for the next level skiers. In case I last another winter here in Sweden, I shall certainly try that! Until I post my own feats on snow, relish these clips and pictures from the event.

Look, BirdMan

Look, BirdMan

Dashing through the snow.....

Dashing through the snow…..

Match my move

Match my move

Flying high

Flying high