First job interview in Swedish


The prospect of starting to work after graduation can both be stressful and exciting. The last few weeks have been such a mixture of contrasting emotions because it was  during this time that I got my first job interview in Sweden, as a ”projektingenjör” in Trafikverket. Not only was this my first interview in Sweden, it was the first ever in Swedish language.

It was a worthwhile and memorable experience. I read and asked around a bit of how interviews work in Sweden and got considerable input from friends and acquaintances. I prepared some questions that are generally expected in such situations, for example, analyzing your strengths and weaknesses. The challenge was not so much as to what I should speak about, it was to express my ideas in a clear manner in Swedish. I browsed through all the notes I had made over the last year or so in my Swedish classes, and tried to cram in in as much vocabulary as possible in to my head. Lastly, I did a few practice drills in front of the washroom mirror and was all set to face the music.

Trafikverket is reponsible for development and maintenance of road and railways all over Sweden

Trafikverket is reponsible for development and maintenance of road and railways all over Sweden

 

The interview afternoon kicked off with a presentation about the company which also focused on the future prospects for new employees and what they expect to get from a newly graduated student.The interview it self had all that I had expected. Pleasant and friendly personnel, with questions related to my personality and aims in life.  It was comforting to see how every single person at Trafikverket was appreciative of what ever Swedish I could speak and gave me time and space to think before I could formulate a reply.

Interviews can take a toll on nerves at times

Interviews can take a toll on nerves at times

There was also a simple logic test which every candidate should do. Out of 180 candidates who appeared that day, 45 were to go through to the next stage.

Luckily, I made the cut and have been called to the final set of interviews in Stockholm. Every candidate would have to do a small presentation about himself/herself, do an interview and write another logic test. I can already feel butterflies in my stomach. All the hard work and energy put into learning the language can possibly pay off now. It is an uphill task but nonetheless exciting. Will come back in my next blog with my story from Stockholm!

One comment