GöteborgsVarvet


This week, I would like to get the attention of my readers to an extravaganza that Göteborg hosts every year. It is the world’s largest half-marathon and is called GöteborgsVarvet. In comparison to the city I come from, Göteborg is very small but the fact that this city hosts something as big and as celebrated as this marathon speaks volumes about the active and spirited live style here.

The map

The map

As one can judge from the name of the event, the race is a standard 21 km long. There are around 64,000 participants and over 200,000 spectators each year. It will be held on the on 23rd May this year; this itself is a huge catch of the event, summers in Sweden are in full flow around that time which makes outdoor activities twice as fun. Huge crowds and bands are seen by the sidelines trying to cheer and buck up the budding participants. I myself was standing by the side lines last year, cheering up a friend who participated. This year I decided to step up my game, and participate myself. If you feel like part of being this memorable event, then sign up and join in on the fun!

 

Avenyn: would never see it like that other times of the year

Avenyn: would never see it like that other times of the year

One, two, three and off we go!

One, two, three and off we go!

Each participant is handed out a medal as a souvenir at the end of the run. The most inspiring aspect,  by some stretch is that people of all age groups are a part of this marathon. I felt very spirited when I saw people thrice my age crossing the finishing line last year! Commendable indeed! So if you think you can not do it then think again!